For the Love of Primitive Antiques

A New School Year

Well, it’s that time of year again!  Where we send our children off to school for another fun filled year of new friends, homework, PTA, Soccer practice, Dance Recitals, and the list goes on.  I remember my school years fondly, and one of my favorite things to do at the beginning of the school year was to bring my teacher flowers.  Now I have to admit, when I kissed my mother good bye to venture forth to the old brick school house, I did not have any flowers in my hands.  But I had a pretty little bouquet by the time I entered the class room, much to the chagrin of the neighbors along my walking route.  Now, I am not promoting any one to take their neighbor’s flowers, so I have a fun and quick project for those first of the year teacher bouquets. It is easy enough for the kids to help and inexpensive too!  Here is a list of what you need:

  • 1 empty can from vegetable/fruit (emptied & cleaned)
  • 33 new yellow #2 pencils
  • twine
  • 3 rusty bells
  • rusty craft wire
  • glue gun

1.   Set can on flat surface. Then use your glue gun and start attaching the pencils to can with eraser side down. Be careful to glue the pencils straight up and down, making sure the erasers are flat to the surface.

2.  Only glue on lower portion of the pencil. Make sure that the embossed lettering on the pencil facing out to be able to be seen.

4.  Once the “pencil vase” is finished you can put fake flowers, real flowers, or some pretty branches with leaves in it. Then it will be ready to give to that favorite teacher.

3.  After finishing attaching the pencils, Wind the twine around the middle center of the “pencil vase” making sure to keep the twine flat and not over lapping. Make about a inch band. Carefully glue the starting end of twine and the finishing end of twine down to the pencils. Start and end on what is going to be the back side of the “pencil vase”. Then use a second piece of twine and make a bow in the center of twine band. Take about a 3 inch piece of craft wire attach 2 bells to one end, then put the other end of wire through the bow knot and then attach the remaining bell to the other end of the craft wire. Twist the two ends of the craft wire together. I also put a dab of glue on the bow knot to keep the bow from not coming undone.

Leave a Reply

