For the Love of Primitive Antiques

Things That Go Bump in the Night

What is it about the start of a new holiday season that makes one nostalgic?  It always starts with me at the beginning of the Halloween season in October and continues through Christmas.  The smell of caramel apples or candy corn just time warps me back to the sixties(Ooops, I think I just dated myself) when my biggest worry was what I was going to be for Halloween.  One of the only costumes I remember is when I was a black cat. My dad was an upholsterer by trade and made me a cat head dress, not unlike what Batman wore, out of scrap black vinyl and he also made a long black tail out of that same vinyl.  These two items along with my black ballet leotards made me into the purr-fect little black kitty cat.  I loved it so much, I wore that costume three years in a row and I probably would have gone a fourth year with wearing it, if I hadn’t grown out of it.  The outfit was so much more special to me because its was handmade for me by my dad.  I had so much more fun wearing the costume than I did eating the bagful of Trick or Treat candy that I scored.  It was such a wonderful memory that when I had a child, I wanted to make her costumes and truly loved handmaking them for her.  I think my crowning victory was the year I transformed my child into a Blue and Gold Macaw Parrot using nothing but a glue gun, blue material, scissors, cardboard, and a bunch of yellow highlite markers.  I’m not sure who had more fun…her wearing it or me making it.  I hope my father knows how much the costume he made for me meant to me as do I hope my child knows how much it meant to me making the costumes for her and now that she is an adult, I hope she looks back to those costumes with fond memories.

Leave a Reply

