For the Love of Primitive Antiques

Lazy, Hazy, Crazy Days of Summer

Well, the lilacs on the trees came and gone as did the 4th of July so now Summer is in full swing.  Summer for me is mowing the grass, weeding the various gardens, and generally getting the ole homestead fixed back up and ready for the coming Fall and Winter.  I don’t mind though because I love the longer days and being outside on that old mower with the smell of freshly cut grass and the hint of blackberries in the air.  I put in my ear phones and turn the Ipod on and rock out to the tunes of my carefree youth.  It’s just me, the mower, music, memories, but most of all just time to be with my thoughts!

Some of the trees are finally giving up some fruit and the blackberry bushes are trying to ripen their berries, Mmm can’t wait for those to make old fashion Blackberry Cobbler (but more to come on that topic & recipe in another post).  The birds took a very well planned out military assault on our cherry trees this season but at least they were nice enough to leave us some cherries on the top of the tree…just out of reach even with a ladder.  My husband finally gave in and purchased some cherries at the neighborhood grocery last night all the while cursing our greedy little suet fed yet still hungry bird friends.  Oh and just a reminder to my hubby don’t count on the apples either…

A Pileated Woodpecker enjoying an unpicked apple off our tree

Ahh, the joys of living in the country!

Leave a Reply

